Tut Taylor reso Carolina model

3016 reads

First off, Happy New Year to all of you slide players out there! I hope this coming year is your best so far. I wanted to share an experience I had up at Elderly Music in Lansing MI this past Thursday. I went up there with my friend and great banjo player Jeff Peterson. We are both from Burlington WI which is about 75 miles north of Chicago. I was on a mission to buy a new or used squareneck reso of some quality. I had a round neck Goldtone that I sold on E-bay that I started to learn on about 6 months ago. I am still very new to slide playing but I have played guitar and mando for years.

I saw that Elderly had a used dobro Josh Graves model that seemed to be reasonably priced so I was kind of hoping for that one. I wanted to get away from the cheaper type of dobro's just for the sake of future resale value. I have some experience with that in the past with guitars and mandos. I currently have a Summit, Collings and Rigel for mandos and a Martin D-28 1975 model, Taylor 710 CE limited and a great Froggy Bottom guitar, so I know quality when I see it. I bring that up only as a frame of reference. I am a newbie with resonators.